My goal someday is to have dinner at the French laundry in Yountville but being unemployed and a 7 hour drive away, that’s not likely to happen anytime soon.

Half-drunk House Blanc

Luckily, Thomas Keller opened up a Bouchon in Los Angeles and so kindly provides a happy hour in its bar.

When I had a job and money, I had brunch at Bouchon in Las Vegas.  It was delicious but it was Vegas so the night before kept me from really enjoying what I was eating.  They did provide me with a croissant which was amazing to eat later when I was riding the bus home (yes, the first and last bus I will take to Vegas).  So I was eager to come back to Bouchon again.

Squint and you can see

They don’t post the Happy Hour on their website but I was able to sneak a photo with my phone.  It’s not the cheapest of happy hours but you’re paying to enjoy Bar Bouchon and not ruin your credit.  I ordered a glass of their house rouge , a Canape, three oysters, Tartar de Saumon and a house blanc.    I sat inside near the bar but they have outside seating.

Their house wine is a full glass pour (not according to that pic, forgot to take a picture after I enjoyed 1/2 of it).  Both wines were really good, although that’s not surprising.  The Canape had heirloom tomatoes and burrata was so tasty and not a bad portion for the price.  I decided to splurge on oysters (and I do love oysters), and they were delicate and lovely.

Canapes

I also loved the Tartar de Saumon.  The portion was pretty small if you’re splitting but I was flying solo that day so it was great for me.

All in all, it was a really pleasant way to spend an hour on a weekday.  I recommend it for those looking to class up their happy hour without looking too cheap.

Happy Hour at Bar Bouchon runs from 4 pm – 7 pm on weekdays.

http://www.bouchonbistro.com/

Bar Bouchon

235 N Canon Dr

Beverly Hills, California 90210